Sonoran Audubon Society

Christmas Bird Count

By Walter Thurber
Arizona Field Ornithologists

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since the year 1900. Volunteers from throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. There is no longer a participation fee. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one or more of interest to you and contact the compiler for information.

Click here for a printable version of this list.

Date  Day Count Name Compiler  Phone Email*
12/14 Mo Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker  480-585-1606 kurtrad at
12/14 Mo Tucson Valley Rich Hoyer 520-325-5310 birdernaturalist at
12/16 We Green Valley-Madera Canyon Clark Blake 520-625-1015 mcblake at
12/16 We Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff at
12/17 Th Patagonia Thomas Arny 520-394-0146 tarny at
12/18 Fr Sedona Rich Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong at
12/19 Sa Avra Valley Claudia Johnson 509-264-9076 claudialj at
12/19  Sa Cabeza Prieta NWR Kim Veverka 520-387-4987 kim_veverka at
12/19 Sa Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7968 brian_gatlin at
12/19  Sa Martinez Lake-Yuma Lin Piest 928-341-4049 lpiest at
12/19 Sa Mormon Lake Terry Blows 928-774-8028  terence.blows at
12/19 Sa Nogales Michael Bissontz 520-577-8778 seetrogon at
12/19  Sa Ramsey Canyon [Open] N/A has_admin at
12/19 Sa Santa Catalina Mountains Brian Nicholas 520-289-3409 weehawker2 at
12/20 Su Hassayampa River Vanessa Montgomery 623-465-0012 hassayampacbc at
12/20 Su  Jerome   Julie Wills 928-300-9775 jwills282 at
12/21 Mo Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at
12/22 Tu Phoenix-Tres Rios Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline at
12/26  Sa Flagstaff-Mount Elden Terry Blows  928-774-8028 terence.blows at
12/26 Sa  Superior Mike Evans 480-330-0655 maskatce at
12/28  Mo Bill Williams Delta Kathleen Blair 928-667-4144 kathleen_blair at
12/29 Tu Gila River Troy Corman 602-717-2928 aplomado at
12/29 Tu Havasu NWR DeeDee DeLorenzo 928-758-2707 poncho at
01/02 Sa Appleton-Whittell Robert Weissler 520-234-1792 weissler at
01/02  Sa Atascosa Highlands Jake Mohlmann 610-390-2424 mohlmann2 at
01/02 Sa Camp Verde Holly Kleindienst 928-853-6887 hollykleindienst at
01/02 Sa Dudleyville  Doug Jenness  520-909-1529 d_jenness at
01/02 Sa Portal Jackie Lewis 520-558-2287 winjac12 at
01/03 Su Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-240-3737 bonnie.swarbrick at
01/04 Mo Carefree   Cathy Wise 602-301-7530 cwise at
01/04 Mo Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267  john_spence at
01/04 Mo Payson Dave Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh at
01/05 Tu  Timber Mesa Mary Ellen Bittorf  928-367-2462 mcbitt30 at
Unknown Willow Beach Andrew Flaten 928-767-3456 andrew_flaten at
Nearby New Mexico Count
01/03 Su  Peloncillo Mountains Nicholas Pederson 505-417-8665 ndpederson83 at

Issued 10/17/2015                   *Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending